About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us



Green Bay head coach Brian Wardle poses with the 2014 Skip Prosser award with presenter Jamie Dixon (Pittsburgh) at the CollegeInsider.com Awards Banquet on April 4 in Dallas, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

JAN. 14, 2013


The 3rd Annual Shots from the Heart Tournaments have begun. Once again the field of competitors includes some of the biggest names in the game but for the first time the event will also include non-coaches.

Among the non-coaches is Antonio Gates who, before he was an All-Pro with the San Diego Chargers, was an All-American at Kent State. Gates helped the Golden Flashes to within one game of the Final 4 in 2002 NCAA Tournament.

Former World Track & Field champion Ato Boldon will also compete. From 1992-2000 Boldon, who is now the Track & Field analyst for NBC, won 7 gold medals in international competition. Only three other men in history -- Usain Bolt, Frankie Fredericks and Carl Lewis -- have won as many Olympic individual event sprint medals.

Scott Wedman, who won two NBA titles with the Boston Celtics (1984, 86) was the sixth overall pick in the 1974 NBA Draft. A member of the NBA All-Rookie team, Wedman would also receive All-Defensive Team and NBA All-Star honors as well.

ESPN’s Seth Greenberg is among the media members participating in the event.

“For me it’s honor to be a part of ‘Shots from the Heart,” says Greenberg. “After a couple of disappointing efforts the past two tournaments, I plan to advance deep into the tournament this season.”

The former Virginia Tech coach is joined by Sherrod Blakely, who covers the Boston Celtics for Comcast Sports Net New England, ESPN’s Eamonn Brennan and CBS Sports’ Gregg Doyel.

Former Indiana and Oklahoma head coach Kelvin Sampson is also among the participants. Sampson is currently Kevin McHale’s top assistant with the Houston Rockets.



Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace All-America Team
Kay Yow Award
Mid-Major Freshmen All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive Player of the Year
Mid-Major Freshman of the Year
National Most Valuable Player
Mid-Major Most Valuable Player
All-Conference Honors
Copyright © 2013 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.