2017 Skip Prosser Award

April 3, 2017


PHOENIX, AZ -- Wake Forest’s Danny Manning is the recipient of the 2017 Skip Prosser Man of the Year award.

Manning led Wake Forest to the NCAA Tournament and its most wins (19) since the 2009-10 season. The Demon Deacons posted four wins over NCAA Tournament teams, including a win over No. 8 Louisville, which was the highest ranked win of the Manning era.

This season the Demon Deacons set school records for free throw percentage (77.8) and three-point field goals (268). They also posted the third most points in program history (2,733) and the second fewest turnovers (11.8 per game).

“Coach Manning has done a terrific job of bringing Wake Forest basketball back into the conversation in the ACC,” said’s Angela Lento. “He’s an excellent coach and great person.”.

Named after the late Skip Prosser, who died suddenly in 2007 while the head coach at Wake Forest, the award is presented annually to those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who also display moral integrity off of it as well. 

Prosser posted a career record of 291-146 in 14 seasons as a head coach at Loyola, Xavier and Wake Forest. During his time at Wake, Prosser’s teams averaged 21 wins per season.


Randy Bennett Saint Mary's
Mike Brey Notre Dame
John Dunne Saint Peter's
Scott Cross UT Arlington
Jamion Christian Mount St. Mary's
Chris Holtmann Butler
Joe Jones Boston University
Robert Jones Norfolk State
Danny Manning Wake Forest
Frank Martin South Carolina
Nick McDevitt UNC Asheville
Ritchie McKay Liberty
Ryan Odom UMBC
Matt Painter Purdue
Josh Pastner Georgia Tech
Steve Prohm Iowa State
Pat Skerry Towson
Russell Turner UC Irvine
Willis Wilson Texas A&M Corpus Christi
Jay Wright Villanova


The Skip Prosser Man of the Year award honors those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who display moral integrity off of it as well.
In six years with the Deacons, Prosser posted a 126-68 record. For his career, he was 291-146 in 14 seasons including six as the head coach at Xavier and one year at Loyola (Md.).
At Wake Forest, Prosser's teams averaged 21 wins per season while playing in arguably the nation's most difficult league, the Atlantic Coast Conference. Prosser won 100 games at an ACC school quicker than all but two coaches in the 55-year history of the conference. He coached NBA stars Chris Paul and Josh Howard, led the Demon Deacons to the first No. 1 national ranking in school history and earned ACC Coach of the Year honors in 2003.
Prosser passed away of an apparent heart attack on July 26, 2007 in his office at Wake Forest. He had just returned from his morning jog.
The recipient of the 2023-24 award will be announced in April, in Phoenix, AZ site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

The Skip Prosser award is presented annually to a division I head coach who achieves success on the basketball court, while displaying great moral integrity off of the court as well, as voted on by the awards committee. 
The 10-member voting committee consists of current and former head coaches, as well as two senior staff members of
The award is presented annually at the site of the men's Division I NCAA basketball championship. 

Champign Image
Champign Image
Champign Image