2018 Skip Prosser Award

April 2, 2018


SAN ANTONIO, TX -- Lipscomb’s Casey Alexander is the recipient of the 2018 Skip Prosser Man of the Year award.
Alexander led the Bisons to their first-ever Atlantic Sun tournament championship and first-ever NCAA Tournament appearance.  Lipscomb finished the season 23-10, which included an eight-game winning streak, culminating in a 108-96 victory over FGCU in the ASUN Tournament Final. 
“Casey Alexander has built Lipscomb into a perennial contender and he has done the right way,” said’s Angela Lento. “His program has been strong both on the court and in the classroom and he has always conducted himself in a first class manner. He is a very deserving recipient of this award, which extends well beyond the X’s and O’s.”
This season marked the first time in program history that the Bisons have posted back-to-back 20-win seasons and the 23 wins are the most in school history.

Named after the late Skip Prosser, who died suddenly in 2007 while the head coach at Wake Forest, the award is presented annually to those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who also display moral integrity off of it as well.

Prosser posted a career record of 291-146 in 14 seasons as a head coach at Loyola, Xavier and Wake Forest.


Casey Alexander, Lipscomb
John Beilein, Michigan
Tony Bennett, Virginia
Brad Brownell, Clemson
Scott Cross, UT Arlington
Jamie Dixon, TCU
Chris Holtmann, Ohio State
Jason Hooten, Sam Houston State
Mike Jones, Radford
LaVall Jordan, Butler
Chris Mack, Xavier
Bob Marlin, Louisiana
Matt McMahon, Murray State
Nate Oats, Buffalo
Ryan Odom, UMBC
Mark Schmidt, St. Bonaventure

The Skip Prosser Man of the Year award honors those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who display moral integrity off of it as well.
In six years with the Deacons, Prosser posted a 126-68 record. For his career, he was 291-146 in 14 seasons including six as the head coach at Xavier and one year at Loyola (Md.).
At Wake Forest, Prosser's teams averaged 21 wins per season while playing in arguably the nation's most difficult league, the Atlantic Coast Conference. Prosser won 100 games at an ACC school quicker than all but two coaches in the 55-year history of the conference. He coached NBA stars Chris Paul and Josh Howard, led the Demon Deacons to the first No. 1 national ranking in school history and earned ACC Coach of the Year honors in 2003.
Prosser passed away of an apparent heart attack on July 26, 2007 in his office at Wake Forest. He had just returned from his morning jog.
The recipient of the 2023-24 award will be announced in April, in Phoenix, AZ site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

The Skip Prosser award is presented annually to a division I head coach who achieves success on the basketball court, while displaying great moral integrity off of the court as well, as voted on by the awards committee. 
The 10-member voting committee consists of current and former head coaches, as well as two senior staff members of
The award is presented annually at the site of the men's Division I NCAA basketball championship. 

Champign Image
Champign Image
Champign Image